Westwind Memory Care Reviews

Westwind Memory Care Reviews

Reviewer Image

Doug S.

Feb 9, 2024

yelp logo

This is the best place in santa cruz county. Ricardo was very helpful and accommodating. Its a beautiful building that borders a natural area with great views. The staff makes sure everybody gets dressed and gets them out so they dont languish in there rooms. No complaints from me, and im a notorious complainer.

CA, CA

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

Yelp Reviews

Reviewer Image

Elizabeth Q.

May 11, 2021

yelp logo

I spent three hours on Sunday this past weekend with Ricardo De La Cruz, Community Relations Coordinator at West Wind Memory Care in Santa Cruz, touring the facility, meeting staff and residents, observing resident rooms, dining and gathering areas, laundry, and kitchen areas, etc. The facility is immaculate, serene, warm, friendly, uncluttered, and inviting. Doors were open to (securely fenced) outdoor patio and garden areas, where residents were free to walk, enjoy the fresh air & sun, or sit and visit with relatives or guests. I am considering West Wind for an elder family member who is cognitively & physically disabled, who needs the kind of care that West Wind provides. My experience at West Wind left me impressed with the overall "good vibe." Staff & residents were friendly, all my questions were answered fully, I was given extensive access to both the of the two floors. Security aspects seemed very good. There were many staff members about, there were activities in progress for residents, including games, art, and table puzzles. I am unable to understand why West Wind has so many harshly critical reviews on Yelp, especially ones referring to dirt, spiders, mold, and general uncleanliness---I saw none of this kind of thing. Not even a speck of dust or lint or dirt or clutter! I saw no hint of mistreatment or neglect of residents. These negative reviews do produce cognitive dissonance in prospective clients' families. But my experience was very positive. I do like that the appropriate staff person responds to every Yelp review, both positive and negative. My family is seriously considering West Wind as an excellent option for our elder.

Santa Cruz, CA

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

Yelp Reviews

Reviewer Image

Kim D.

May 14, 2021

yelp logo

What a lovely space. I was pleasantly surprised when visiting a relative. I was expecting something completely different. The staff were inviting and the people who lived there looked well taken of. The home is new, clean and nicely decorated. Snacks were being served and they actually looked really good. The fresh fruit looked amazing I thought I would just feel bad after leaving but I felt good about what I saw and know she is happy.

Auburn, CA

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

Yelp Reviews

Reviewer Image

Miranda B.

Jan 2, 2020

yelp logo

Anytime I visit Westwind, I can see the compassion that the staff members have for each and every resident. I'm sure caring for this population is tricky but the staff seem to be well trained on how to care for those with Dementia and how to manage the behaviors that come along with it. It truly feels like a home when you are in this community. The staff members are always very welcoming and helpful and the food is delicious! Kudos to the chef for putting together such tasty and healthy meals for their residents while also accommodating for special diets and restrictions.

Santa Cruz, CA

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

Yelp Reviews

Reviewer Image

Joyce

February 7, 2024

aplaceformom logo

Caring staff. Good housekeeping. Sometimes communication could be better. Overall, I would recommend Westwind Memory Care to others.

Family/friend

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

A Place for Mom

Reviewer Image

anonymous

January 4, 2023

aplaceformom logo

The staff they did have at Westwind was very well trained and very compassionate. There just wasn't enough of them.

Family/friend

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

A Place for Mom

Reviewer Image

Elsie

May 17, 2022

aplaceformom logo

The staff members at Westwind just love my husband, he loves to dance and whenever the music comes on the ladies will come up and dance with him. We really appreciate all the interaction the residents and staff. It is a really nice big open area where our loved one can gather with everyone. The residents an wander all the way around the community safely. Everybody's room is along the outside walls. The center is open with a big sitting area and T.V. His room is always nice and clean, bed is always made and bathroom nice and clean. It is a lot of money each month but it is definitely worth it to be at ease. We can visit anytime or take him out for a walk anytime - we cannot say enough great things about Westwind, it is the perfect place for him.

Family/friend

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

A Place for Mom

Reviewer Image

anonymous

February 18, 2022

aplaceformom logo

We chose Westwind Memory Care because of the close location and they accommodated my budget and were willing to work with us on the price. One thing that I think they could improve on the quality of the foods, I don't think they serve enough fresh fruits and vegetables, it is a lot of starches. Overall I would absolutely recommend them to others.

Family/friend

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

A Place for Mom

Reviewer Image

Rick

July 15, 2020

aplaceformom logo

They are very family oriented community. The staff and the residents are very friendly and caring. The caregivers are really good. The food is good and it is healthy. I visited twelve communities, and I chose this community because it gave me a feeling of comfort with both the residents and the staff. The facility is newer and everything is modern, clean, and nice. They offer a lot of activities. They don't let the residents just sit in their rooms, they get them engaged. I would recommend this community to other families.

Family/friend

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

A Place for Mom

Reviewer Image

Jennifer Ledford

April 20, 2020

google logo

Westwind is the BEST memory care facility I have ever seen. We needed to move our elderly aunt from her home because 24/7 care is VERY pricey and we needed to get her closer to family. We were so thrilled when we discovered Westwind. The building is gorgeous and the staff is very knowledgeable and attentive. They helped us with the transition and even worked as advocates for us when a certain medical group who shall remain nameless was lagging on her medical records. I can sleep at night knowing we placed our aunt in a safe and caring environment. She loves the activities and we enjoy visiting. We are very grateful to have found Westwind!

- Family/Friend

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

Google Reviews

Reviewer Image

Amy Orlando

April 20, 2020

google logo

Really kind people. I heart my grammy so much. Thanks,gracias. Peace.have a safe day.

- Family/Friend

star rating star rating star rating star rating star rating

Google Reviews

Know Our Residents

Experiences


selling-the-home

Anonymous reviewed Broadwell Kearney on Google My Business


Recommended

I toured this facility while looking for a place for my Grandmother. It is very beautifully done, the staff there are very kind, and the layout is perfect to feel comfortable about having a loved one live there.

We’ll love to hear back from you

Write a Review


    Write a Review

    Select how many stars we deserve!

    Select, I am a:






    Note: Your review may be shared publicly.





    Schedule Your Personal Tour